Officers of the British Thyroid Association

Professor Krishna Chatterjee

President - Professor V Krishna Chatterjee FRS FMedSci


Krishna Chatterjee, Professor of Endocrinology at the University of Cambridge, undertakes research at the interface of basic science and clinical medicine, which aims to advance fundamental knowledge of the thyroid axis.


His group studies rare and unusual disorders of thyroid hormone action, including Resistance to Thyroid Hormone mediated by defective thyroid hormone receptor beta or alpha; and a multisystem disease with deficiency of human selenocysteine-containing proteins, which affects thyroid hormone metabolism. He seeks to translate discoveries into better diagnosis and therapy of both rare and common thyroid disorders.




  • Dr Carla Moran, Secretary, BTA

Secretary -  Dr Carla Moran MB PhD


Dr Carla Moran is a Consultant Endocrinologist at the Beacon Hospital in Dublin.  Following completion of specialist training in Endocrinology, Diabetes Mellitus & general internal medicine she undertook a fellowship in thyroid disease at Addenbrooke’s Hospital & the University of Cambridge, UK, during which time she obtained her PhD degree, characterising human aspects of Resistance to Thyroid Hormone.


Subsequently employed as a consultant endocrinologist at Addenbrooke’s Hospital, she led the specialist thyroid service, where she developed specialist thyroid services (thyroid disease in pregnancy, rare thyroid disorders, alemtuzumab induced thyroid dysfunction and virtual clinics), expanded a multidisciplinary thyroid biopsy clinic, while conducting busy general thyroid and endocrine clinics.


She has an interest in investigation of discordant thyroid function, having directed a national referral service for patients with unusual thyroid function tests due to assay artefact or rare thyroid disease while in Cambridge, and having published novel causes of such abnormal biochemistry, for example FDH (familial dysalbuminaemic hyperthyroxinaemia). She continues to investigate and treat patients suspected or confirmed to have RTH, such as that mediated by abnormal forms of the Thyroid Hormone receptor (alpha or beta), or selenoprotein deficiency.


She has roles in national societies, such as the Society for Endocrinology (convenor thyroid network, programme organising committee member BES meeting), American Thyroid Association (History and Archives committee member) and is an editorial board member for the Journal of the Endocrine Society.